Sunday, October 9, 2016

Google's Panoramio services to end this November



Google's photo geotagging service, Panoramio, will cease its services after the 4th of November, 2016. Users who linked their Panoramio profile with their Google accounts can access their photos on an Google Album archive and will be added on the Contributions at Google Maps.

About two years ago, Google announced that they will be retiring Panoramio in order to focus on photo-sharing experiences directly inside Google Maps but user feedback prompted to postpone such plans and worked to add features to Maps that better support the level of engagement users enjoyed with Panoramio.

Now, Google will terminate the Panoramio services this November 4, 2016 and Panoramio users, which are linked to their Google accounts, can enjoy Google Maps with its new photo upload tools and Local Guides program. If Panoramio users linked with their Google account, most of the Panoramio photos will be copied to the Google Album Archive and appear in the Maps Contributions panel.

STATEMENT:

Back in 2014, we announced our intention to retire Panoramio in order to invest our efforts into improving photo-sharing experiences directly inside Google Maps. In response to your feedback, we postponed these plans and worked to add features to Maps that better support the level of engagement that you have enjoyed with Panoramio. Today, with photo upload tools in Google Maps and our Local Guides program, we are providing easy ways for you to share your photos with an active and growing community. As such, we’ve decided to move forward with closing down Panoramio. To make this transition easier, we’ll provide several options to continue sharing photos through other services. If you choose, you can also export all your data and take it somewhere else.

If you have linked your Panoramio profile with a Google account, all your Panoramio photos will be copied to the Google Album Archive at full resolution after Panoramio goes away. These copied photos will not use any of your Google storage quota. Your Panoramio photos that appear in Google Maps will continue to appear in Maps, unless you delete them later from the Maps Contributions panel. Note: You must link your Panoramio profile with a Google+ account for your photos to be automatically copied.

After November 4, 2016, you’ll continue to have access to your photos in Panoramio for a year, but you will no longer be able to add new photos, likes, or comments. Below, we’ve included resources to help you manage or export your data.

URL: http://www.panoramio.com/maps-faq

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Ask comments and questions here!