Sunday, May 13, 2018

2018 Verizon IndyCar Series - INDYCAR GP

May is the month of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and it's the start of the loudest race weekend of the year as IndyCar's finest welcomed Indianapolis with the INDYCAR GP race of this season, tackling the Grand Prix layout of the said track before getting ready for the ultimate INDY experience, the INDY 500, at the end of May.

Summing up the INDYCAR Grand Prix in a pinch, Will Power leads the race at the first lap but at Lap 7, Simon Pagenaud and Jordan King spun themselves out of bounds. Also, Spencer Pigot leapt his car through the Turn 6 curb and knocked Takuma Sato out of the track, slapping Pigot a penalty. With the race restarted, Robert Wickens tensioned up to overtake Sebastien Bourdais for second place. The impressive surprise comes from Zachary Claman De Melo, who served as a substitute driver for the injured Pietro Fittipaldi, as he charged the car to the top ten spot in the early leg of the race but ended on 12th place. Following the first wave of pit stops, Wickens used the advantage to gun down Power but several miles later, Power returns to the top spot. Last year's champion, Josef Newgarden, turned up the wick, trying to outgun Bourdais in the south end of the track but later got spun and finished in 11th place. After a race restart and a pit stop, Scott Dixon caught Wickens by surprise by overtaking him for 2nd place but Will Power kept going until he reached Victory Lane.

Power nailed his 33rd career win of the series and his third INDYCAR GP win at Indianapolis. For Team Penske, their 200th IndyCar wins was a milestone all thanks to Will Power himself. Dixon's placed 2nd and Wickens' in 3rd.

That is the end of this year's INDYCAR Grand Prix but the drivers will return to the IMS for the INDY 500 on the 27th of May.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Ask comments and questions here!